Skip to content

Lemon Pasta with Roasted Shrimp

April 1, 2011

Photograph by Quentin Bacon

There’s been a bit of a calamity at our house over the past few weeks. The freezer side of our fridge went on the blink… twice. The last time it was out of commission for six days before the repair man arrived. You know what that means. “Things” started to thaw. This is never a good thing. I had to toss soft crabs and chicken and ground beef. I decided the shrimp were salvageable.  I started searching recipes with shrimp. I found Ina Garten’s Lemon Pasta with Roasted Shrimp recipe.

I wish I’d taken photos, but it was already late and we were very hungry.

The recipe reads “Quickly toss the angel hair with the melted butter, olive oil, lemon zest, lemon juice, salt, pepper and about 1/2 cup of the reserved cooking liquid.” But I saw the show when Ina made this dish, and she put all the ingredients for the sauce in a large saute pan, heated the sauce till the butter melted and tossed the pasta in with it. This is what I did, allowing the sauce to simmer for just a minute, absorbing the flavors of the sauce.

We enjoyed it even though I forgot to reserve a little of the pasta water for the sauce. My sauce would have been a little, um, saucy-err, but it was very good. I reduced the butter and oil. I had to, but let me know if you try it with Ina’s suggested amounts. I used regular pasta instead of angel hair. It was simple, and I will definitely make it again, but I’ll try to remember the pasta water.

Lemon Pasta with Roasted Shrimp

Prep Time: 17 min
Cook Time:
8 min
Level: Easy
Serves: 6 servings

Ingredients

  • 2 pounds (17 to 21 count) shrimp, peeled and deveined
  • Good olive oil
  • Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 pound angel hair pasta
  • 4 tablespoons (1/2 stick) unsalted butter, melted
  • Zest and juice of 2 lemons

Directions

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F. Place the shrimp on a sheet pan with 1 tablespoon olive oil, 1/2 teaspoon salt and 1/2 teaspoon pepper.Toss well, spread them in one layer and roast for 6 to 8 minutes, just until they’re pink and cooked through.

Meanwhile, drizzle some olive oil in a large pot of boiling salted water, add the angel hair and cook until al dente, about 3 minutes. Drain the pasta, reserving some of the cooking liquid. Quickly toss the angel hair with the melted butter, 1/4 cup olive oil, the lemon zest, lemon juice, 2 teaspoons salt, 1 teaspoon pepper and about 1/2 cup of the reserved cooking liquid. Add the shrimp and serve hot.

Share

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 1, 2011 6:57 am

    Sorry about your freezer. I love these kind of simple recipes!

    • Bonnie @ Savoring Simplicity permalink*
      April 1, 2011 2:29 pm

      Thank you. It working now. Let’s hope it stays that way.

  2. April 1, 2011 7:34 am

    This looks delicious. I so want one now.

Leave a Reply

