Skip to content

7 Foods That Do the Weight-Loss Work for You

March 9, 2011

“Want to lose weight? Try increasing your daily fiber intake in the form of nutrient-rich high-fiber foods. Why fiber? Recent research in the Journal of Nutrition suggests eating more fiber as a way to prevent weight gain or even encourage weight loss. Over the course of the two-year study, the researchers found that boosting fiber by 8 grams for every 1,000 calories resulted in about 4 ½ pounds of weight lost.

Try it for yourself. If you’re consuming 2,000 calories per day, aim to increase your fiber by 16 grams.”

Source: Eating Well

These are a staple at our house. We eat them at least once a week. Most of the time I just throw them in the oven at 400 degrees for an hour or till they’re soft. We love them. My husband eats them with the skins. Do you? I don’t, but maybe I should start.

According to Eating Well, “A medium-size baked sweet potato (2 inches wide, 5 inches long…a little larger than your computer mouse), skin included, offers 5 grams of fiber—for just 103 calories.” That’s a lot of bang for the calories and they’re so satisfying.

Other high-fiber foods include apples, green beans, raspberries, strawberries, chickpeas and pumpkin.

Check out all the goodness “HERE.”

Healthy High-Fiber Recipes:
Green Bean Casserole
Blue Cheese-Walnut Green Beans
Squash, Chickpea & Red Lentil Stew
Middle Eastern Chickpea Platter
Orange Slices with Warm Raspberries
Raspberry Bars
Strawberry, Melon & Avocado Salad
Healthy High-Fiber Recipes and Menus

More Weight Loss Tips
Eat More, Lose Weight Video
7 Steps to Permanent Weight Loss
8 Tips for Winning the Food Fight
3 Antidotes to Overeating

Share

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 9, 2011 8:53 am

    nice post. Just the info I was looking for!

  2. March 9, 2011 9:46 am

    This sounds great. I’m all about adding something, instead of taking something away.

  3. March 9, 2011 12:36 pm

    I eat them with the skins too. So do my husband and our two little boys.

  4. July 4, 2013 5:28 am

    Hi! I know this is kind of off topic but I was wondering which blog platform are you using for this website?
    I’m getting sick and tired of WordPress because I’ve had issues with hackers and I’m looking at options for another platform. I would be awesome if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

  5. December 11, 2013 8:41 pm

    Heуy there! I’m at work browsing your blog from my new iphone 4!

    Just wanted to say I love reading through your blog and look foгward to
    all your posts! Carry on the outstanding work!

  6. December 12, 2013 6:00 pm

    It is not my first tіme too go to see thiѕ web ѕite,
    i am browsing this wωeb page dailly and obtain рleasаnt data from here dаilу.

Trackbacks

  1. Strawberry, Melon & Avocado Salad « thingsIfancy.com

Leave a Reply

