Skip to content

Where’s the orange?

October 27, 2009

pumpkins-sunset-lImage: Sunset

Remember back when white pumpkins were the cutting edge? Back when you had never even heard of a white or green or yellow striped pumpkin? When orange pumpkins reined supreme? Not so any longer.

So I’m exaggerating a little. Imagine that. The old orange globe is still the most popular color for pumpkins, but you must admit there are a lot of alternatives out there now. Suddenly the landscape is white and green and yellow as far as the eye can see. Hold on to your carving knife. Here’s a post filled with “alternative” pumpkins.

How do you like these yellow striped pumpkins? Cheerful, aren’t they?

pumpkin-yellow-sunset-l

Pale greens and whitespumpkins-pale-modern-l

White pumpkins are beautiful in a rustic setting.

pumpkin-white-l

How about these miniature striped green-and-yellow pumpkins? Yes, they’re pumpkins.

pumpkin-brown-l

See more Beautiful Pumpkin Arrangements at Sunset

pumpkin-country-living-1009-deImage: Country Living

Neutrals

pumpkins-martha-xl

But once in a while the heart wants what the heart wants, and nothing will do but a  ball of orange at the front door – or two or three.pumpkin-martha_xl

Images: Martha Stewart

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 27, 2009 5:11 pm

    I’m so ashamed. My pumpkin this year is a plastic one with a lightbulb inside that you plug in. Sad. So sad.

    • Bonnie permalink*
      October 27, 2009 5:37 pm

      Pam,
      You make me laugh. Pumpkin shame! Ha!
      I hope it’s orange? I have to admit that I still love the orange ones best. I actually have a huge one this year, but only because my father insisted that my husband plant some old pumpkin seeds he found in a medicine bottle in the freezer last spring. I have no idea how old the seeds were, but they turned into a fairly decent pumpkin patch. I wish I could give you one.

  2. October 28, 2009 2:56 pm

    Love that next to last picture with the all orange mums/pumpkins/brick. (The one with the ionic columns on the porch). Beautiful!

Leave a Reply

