Skip to content

101 Cookbooks

October 20, 2009

red_lentil_soup_recipeImage: red lentil soup/101 Cookbooks

Okay, so this blog (Savoring Simplicity) is not a “really great” blog. It’s a “pretty good” blog, though, and it has some pretty neat stuff on it that you’ll find if you wander around a bit. But I’m going to give you a little gift today – a link to a “really great” blog…as opposed to a “pretty good” blog that has some pretty neat stuff if you wander around a bit. Oops. Did I already say that?

Over there in the side bar….over there….to your right. That’s it. Now, scroll down…just a little more. There. You’ll find a blog category called “In The Kitchen.” That’s a clever way of saying cooking blogs without saying cooking blogs. There’s a link over there to a place called 101 Cookbooks. It’s my latest favorite cooking blog. Heidi Swanson is the site administrator. This is what she has to say about 101 Cookbooks.

101 Cookbooks is my recipe journal. It’s where I write about the recipes that intersect my life, travels, and everyday interests. Often the recipes are from my cookbook collection, sometimes not – they might come from a friend, or I might write about a recipe I created myself.

I focus primarily on natural, whole foods and ingredients – vegetarian recipes that are good for you and for the planet.

carrot_white_bean_salad_2

Image/101 Cookbooks

101 Cookbooks is loaded with delicious recipes that just happen to be healthy. When I first found it, I recall telling my husband that it reminded me of the words of Dr. Kessler, the author of The End of Overeating: Taking Control of the Insatiable American Appetite. While promoting his book, I saw him interviewed several times. He spoke repeatedly about the results of the layering of unhealthy but delicious ingredients in food products. I found the following quote from his book on the Huffington Post.

“In The End of Overeating, Dr. Kessler explains how humans, much like Pavlov’s dogs, become hardwired to anticipate foods with fat, sugar, and salt. The food industry has learned what humans want, and is only too happy to give us what we crave. We quickly become trapped in a vicious cycle of dopamine-fueled urges when we want food, and opioid releases when we eat it.”

continue...

As I was saying, Dr. Kessler’s theory about the layering (or sneaking in if you will) of what most consider to be unhealthful foods reminded me of 101 Cookbooks. Why? Because Heidi layers food, but not quite the same way. Her recipes are layered with healthy, fresh and delicious foods – whole foods that you can feast your eyes upon, not hidden fat, salt and sugar. Whether it’s  Carrot, Dill and White Bean Salad or Red Lentil Soup or Whiskey and Wheat Berry Salad or Cherry Tomato Couscous you’ll enjoy browsing, dawdling, and drooling over the beautiful photos and sumptuous recipes. You can even learn how to build a natural food pantry or find a primer on grains. Eating well has never looked, sounded or tasted so good.

So that’s my little gift to you for stopping by today. I hope you enjoy it.

Heidi’s book, Super Natural Cooking: Five Delicious Ways to Incorporate Whole and Natural Foods into Your Cooking.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

