Skip to content

Making A Bucket List

September 17, 2009

bucketlistx-largeHe who doesn’t fear death dies only once.  ~Giovanni Falcone

I woke early this morning – around four o’clock. This is not unusual for me, but I’ve been sleeping much better since we moved back home. It runs in my family, this insomnia thing. We rise and look for books in the middle of the night, scan the million and one channels on television only to find nothing worth watching, and we wrestle with mind monsters who refuse to go away. It is our way.

What do we think about when the rest of the world is asleep? On this particular morning, I’ve been thinking about making a bucket list. Remember that movie with Morgan Freeman and Jack Nicholson? Two cancer patients take off for parts unknown to fulfill their “life list” or “bucket list” before time runs out.

It seems I’m not original in this thought. I googled “bucket list” and got 46,000,000  results. Is that really possible? So what do people put on their bucket lists? I’m sure that creating a few categories would stimulate the fantasy button – travel, career, family, etc. Is there any endeavor in the world that can not be expedited by categorization? Spoken as a true “A” type personality.

Travel seems to be a big part of what people feel they’ve missed out on. Many of us procrastinate when it comes to visiting the Grand Canyon, or the Taj Mahal. There will always be time and money to do it later, but upon our first breath that hour glass turns over, and those grains of sand never stop sifting downward till our last hour. The Smithsonian has even made a list of the 28 Places To See Before You Die. Now that’s putting a fine point on it.

I am beginning to think maybe I should do this thing – this bucket list. So as not to forget what it is that I truly want out of life or wait till it’s too late, it might not be a bad idea. Why not give some thought to what I’d like to do before time really does run out. I’m pretty sure it won’t be extensive travel though. I enjoy a little travel but not as much as most.

I have a feeling that my list would be quite boring to most. Though I know and understand why others enjoy travel and adventure, I enjoy small pursuits. So most of them are within my grasp financially and physically. How fortunate am I? Fortunate that I have what I wish, and that (for the most part) I wish for what I can have. Still, a bucket list might help me focus on what matters most, but I’m pretty sure it won’t be visiting the Taj Mahal. Maybe the limestone cliffs in Thailand where those millions of wrinkle-lipped free-tailed bats fly out at sunset and return at sunrise. They say it’s quite a sight.

What is your heart’s desire? Do you have a bucket list?

1,000 Places to See Before You Die: A Traveler’s Life List

1,000 Places to See in the U.S.A. and Canada Before You Die

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    September 17, 2009 1:36 pm

    Liked your post…
    About the bucket list – no, I don’t have a clear one in my head, and I don’t think I like these lists (like “1000 places to visit before you die” etc).
    I’m very spontaneous ))) it’s only money I lack, and I have a small baby that holds me back, naturally )))
    Lately, I’ve been to a five month trip with my family (pretty long, huh) all over the world. This was amazing, and this trip was an incentive to start my own travel blog: I wanted to share my impressions and thoughts with the world. We visited lots of places, but, again, you can’t go to Hard Rock Cafe in NY with a one year old ))) But I took a picture )))))
    As a bottom line, my advice: don’t do “bucket lists” or any other lists except for when you go shopping to a food store )) Just live and enjoy life without the lists, things will come up to meet you at the right time in the right place once you’re ready for them. Just keep the important things in your head )

  2. September 17, 2009 1:38 pm

    Liked your post…
    About the bucket list – no, I don’t have a clear one in my head, and I don’t think I like these lists (like “1000 places to visit before you die” etc).
    I’m very spontaneous ))) it’s only money I lack, and I have a small baby that holds me back, naturally )))
    Lately, I’ve been to a five month trip with my family (pretty long, huh) all over the world. This was amazing, and this trip was an incentive to start my own travel blog: I wanted to share my impressions and thoughts with the world. We visited lots of places, but, again, you can’t go to Hard Rock Cafe in NY with a one year old ))) But I took a picture )))))
    As a bottom line, my advice: don’t do “bucket lists” or any other lists except for when you go shopping to a food store )) Just live and enjoy life without the lists, things will come up to meet you at the right time in the right place once you’re ready for them. Just keep the important things in your head )

  3. BMA permalink*
    September 18, 2009 3:13 pm

    It sounds like you’ve traveled extensively. I’ve traveled very little, but my son loves to travel and has gone all over the world, even to places that Americans seldom go. I admire how he loves adventure. You must be the same.

    • September 21, 2009 3:38 am

      I did ))) We decided to go on this trip very spontaneously, it was partly business, partly pleasure. Being the “pleasure authority” in my family, I concentrated more on this part ))))) Traveling is a great thing. It revives your perception, forces you to look at things from a different angel and, eventually, you come back as a different person. I take this reviving thing as an advantage (though some may say they enjoy their being as is, no need of changes). But I’m not a travel-addict. Maybe I could become one, had there not been so many financial and family constraints)))

Leave a Reply

